The Margot Prior Award

Professor Margot Prior (1937-2020) published the very first Australian journal article focused on autism (in 1973), and was deeply involved in the creation of the Australasian Society for Autism Research (ASfAR). In recognition of her substantial contributions to the field of autism research, she was awarded a lifetime membership to ASfAR upon its creation, with a dedicated Margot Prior Oral Presentation Prize for students awarded at each biennial Conference.

Upon Professor Prior’s passing, the ASfAR Executive Committee decided to establish two competitive awards for Early Career Researchers (ECR), with one dedicated each year to an autistic researcher. The Margot Prior ECR Awards (each valued at $2,500) are granted annually (with the inaugural award in 2021), with funds able to be used toward directly funding research activity or equipment including laboratory visits, conference travel, or any related activity to further the individual’s research endeavours.

2022 Applications now open

Applications are sought from members who are within 5 years of the PhD being awarded, have a full or an autistic researcher ASfAR membership, and who have standing in a university or research institute capable of accepting and administering the award (award will be made to and administered by the applicant’s institution).

The awardees must submit a report to the ASfAR Executive one-year post-award.

The completed application form and any related documents are due by email at by 5PM Australian Eastern Standard Time on 6th May 2022. Criteria are detailed on the attached application form.

All applications will be reviewed and ranked by members of the ASfAR Executive Committee.

Download Application Document here